Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Calls for Papers for PAHA & PIASA - Due April 15, 2013


PAHA's 2014 Annual Meeting will be held in Washington, D.C. on January 2-5, 2013, as part of the American Historical Association's Annual Conference. Proposals of papers on Polish-American and Polish issues (history, culture, sociology, biography, and more) should be submitted to a panel chaired by Dr. Thomas Napierkowski, PAHA President.

 The deadline is on April 15, 2013, email to Dr. Thomas Napierkowski, at tnapierk@uccs.edu. The proposals should include a title, up to 500 words abstract, and contact information with the name and affiliation of the author.


The 71st Annual Meeting of the Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America will be held at Hyatt Arlington Hotel, on Friday, June 14, and Saturday, June 15, 2013. The Program Committee encourages submissions in all aspects of Polish Studies. Complete sessions are preferred, but individual papers will be considered. Sessions are two hours in length and include three papers of about 25 minutes, with Moderator and, where possible, Commentator. Panels of up to five shorter presentations can also be proposed.

Proposals should be sent to Paul W. Knoll at: knoll@usc.edu by 15 April 2013.

Monday, March 18, 2013

Nominations for PAHA's 2014 Awards

The Polish American Historical Association solicits nominees for PAHA’s 2014 Awards. PAHA encourages members and non-members to nominate members and non-members for its awards. Please send all nominations by July 15, 2013 to the chair of the awards committee, Anna Mazurkiewicz (Department of History, University of Gdansk), at anna.a.mazurkiewicz@gmail.com

Oskar Halecki Prize recognizes an important book or monograph on the Polish experience in the United States. Eligibility is limited to works of historical and/or cultural interest, including those in the social sciences or humanities, published in the two years prior to the year of the award.

Mieczyslaw Haiman Award is offered annually to an American scholar for sustained contribution to the study of Polish Americans.

Joseph Swastek Award is given in recognition of an outstanding scholarly contribution to Polish American Studies Skalny Civic Achievement Awards honor individuals or groups who advance PAHA's goals of promoting research and awareness of the Polish experience in the Americas.

Amicus Poloniae Award recognizes significant contributions enhancing knowledge of the Polish and Polish American heritage by individuals not belonging to the Polish American community. Creative Arts Award recognizes the contributions in the field of creative arts by individuals or groups who have promoted an awareness of the Polish experience in the Americas.

Kulczycki Prize recognizes an important dissertation on the Polish experience in the United States offered to a graduate student or younger scholar within the first five years after awarding of the doctorate degree to assist in the publication of a book or monograph.

Distinguished Service Award is given occasionally to a member of PAHA who has rendered valuable and sustained service to the organization.

Graduate Student Research Paper Award

This award recognizes a substantial original research paper on Polish-American history and culture produced by a young scholar in the humanities or social sciences. A paper should be sent via e-mail to: anna.a.mazurkiewicz@gmail.com before July 15th, 2013. In addition to the recognition and paper publication offer from the interdisciplinary, refereed scholarly journal “The Polish American Studies”, the winner will receive a $500 travel grant to present the paper at the PAHA 2014 Annual Meeting (January 2-5, Washington D.C.). The conference is held in conjunction with the American Historical Association.

The candidate for the award must be a graduate student at the time of the application or nomination. In addition to the paper (up to 25 pages, 1.5 spaced, Times New Roman 12) any submission must contain: graduate student’s short biographic note, 250-word abstract, and one letter of reference. The results will be announced by September 1st.